HOME > About JHRS > Board Members > Board Members

Board Members

Yukiko Nakano

Dr. Nakano is a Professor of Department of Cardiovascular Medicine at Hiroshima University. She graduated from Hiroshima University. Her research specializes in sudden cardiac death, especially focus on Brugada syndrome. Clinically, she performs catheter ablation and device therapy.

Katsushige Ono

Dr. Ono is the Director of the Department of Pathophysiology at Oita University School of Medicine. His research interests are focused on molecular and cellular mechanisms of ion channel regulation which are related to pathology of arrhythmias and cardiovascular diseases.

Ichiro Sakuma

Ichiro Sakuma received the B.S., the M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in precision engineering from the University of Tokyo in 1982, 1984, and 1989, respectively. He was a research instructor at Department of Surgery, Baylor College of Medicine from 1990 to 1991. He was appointed as an Associate Professor at the Department of Applied Electronic Engineering, Tokyo Denki University in 1992. He has been serving as a faculty member of the University of Tokyo since 1998. He is currently a Professor at Department of Bioengineering, Department of Precision Engineering, and Medical Device Development and Regulation Research Center in School of Engineering. He also serves as the director of Research Institute for Biomedical Science and Engineering, The University of Tokyo. His research interests include cardiac electrophysiology, computer aided surgery, medical robotics, medical devises for minimally invasive therapies, and regulatory sciences.

Tetsuo Sasano

Dr. Tetsuo Sasano is a Professor and Chairman of the Department of Cardiovascular Medicine at Tokyo Medical and Dental University. His research interest focuses on basic and translational research including the development of novel gene and cell therapy for arrhythmia. He also works on the precision medicine for atrial fibrillation utilizing genomic information, biomarkers, and novel analysis of electrocardiogram.

Morio Shoda

Dr. Shoda is Director & Professor, Clinical Research Division for Heart Rhythm Management, Department of Cardiology, Tokyo Women’s Medical University, and also Specially Appointed Professor, Department of Cardiovascular Medicine, Shinshu University School of Medicine.

Kyoko Soejima

Dr. Soejima is a Professor and Chair of Department of Cardiovascular Medicine at Kyorin University, Tokyo. She specializes in the management of cardiac arrhythmias and sudden cardiac death prevention, including catheter ablation of complex arrhythmias and device therapy.
Dr. Soejima earned her medical degree from Keio University School of Medicine.

Atsushi Sugiyama

Dr. Sugiyama became a professor of Pharmacology of Toho University in April 2010 and remains active in the field of Cardiac Electro-pharmacology and its strategic direction. Dr. Sugiyama also maintains clinical practice as a cardiologist as well as a clinical pharmacologist. He has published over 200 peer-reviewed scientific original articles and is considered as an international expert of Cardiac Electro-pharmacology. He received his MD and PhD from Yamanashi Medical University, and is a Councilor of Japanese Pharmacological Society, Japanese Heart Rhythm Society and Japanese Safety Pharmacology Society.

Hiroshi Tada

Dr. Tada is Professor & Chairman of the Department of Cardiovascular Medicine at the University of Fukui. He is an Associate Editor of Journal of Arrhythmia, Circulation Journal, and Journal of Cardiology Cases. He has served on several JHRS committees. His research interests are focused on catheter ablation, implantable cardiac devices, and cardiac imaging.

Naohiko Takahashi

Dr. Takahashi is presently Chair in Department of Cardiology and Clinical Examination at the Oita University. He is Associate Editor of Circulation Journal, Journal of Cardiology, and International Heart Journal. His research focuses on mechanisms of atrial fibrillation, particularly inflammatory atrial fibrosis. He also researches risk stratification of idiopathic ventricular fibrillation, including Brugada syndrome and early repolarization syndrome.

< Prev    Next >

Heart Rhythm Society

4-3-24 Kudan-kita,
102-0073 Japan
Tel: +81-3-6261-7351
Fax: +81-3-6261-7350
Email office@jhrs.or.jp